What to Do if You’ve Been in an Injury-Causing Car Collision
In bustling metros like Las Vegas, automobile incidents are not at all uncommon. From fender benders to more severe collisions, a car crash can occur at virtually any time. According to national statistics, in the United States each year, more than 37,000 people are killed in automobile collisions, with another 2.35 million suffering injury or disability.
In the wake of an incident, it can sometimes be difficult to assess the severity of the situation. This is especially true with respect to injury, as symptoms may not always be present immediately. That’s why it is important to remember a few key things in the event you are involved in an automobile crash.
I’ve Just Been in an Auto Wreck – What Do I Do?
The most important thing to remember about car collisions is that, as a responsible and lawful driver, you must not flee the scene of an incident, especially if there are any clear injuries. Even if you have sustained an injury, fleeing the scene can result in a suspension of driving privileges, or having your license revoked.
You will also want to be sure to notify 911 immediately to report any injuries and request medical assistance. You should also inform your local authorities, like the highway patrol, sheriff or local police.
Don’t Forget to Exchange Information
Under state law, motorists in Nevada must provide certain information to other drivers in the event of a collision. It is generally a good idea to obtain contact information for those who have witnessed the incident, should the situation escalate to a legal claim and you need them to testify.
Information you will want to collect includes:
- The person’s name, address, telephone number (for both the other driver and any witnesses)
- The person’s driver’s license number
- The license plate of any vehicles involved
- Auto insurance information for the motorists involved
It’s also important to get photographs of the scene of the incident, including both vehicles, the position of the cars, debris in the roadway, the intersection or streets where the collision occurred, etc. Should you need to file a personal injury lawsuit, this information will be evidence that you can present in support of your claim.
Do I Need to Report My Incident to the DMV?
Depending on the severity of your collision, you may also be required by law to report it to the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). If the event was not investigated by law enforcement, you must file a report with the DMV within 10 days of its occurrence.
You are also required to notify the DMV if your crash resulted in personal injury or death, or if it caused property damage exceeding $750.
Failing to report an incident to the DMV may result in the suspension of your license. Even if another driver admits liability and pays damages related to your injury, you are still required to file a report.
What Steps Should I Take if I’ve Been Injured?
If you have been injured in a car crash, it is important that you have your condition assessed by a medical professional as soon as possible. Once you have determined the extent of your injury, it is in your best interest to seek the guidance of a personal injury attorney, who can assist with the filing of a legal claim to recover compensation and related damages.
Those residing in the Las Vegas area turn to the dedicated legal team at Bertoldo, Baker, Carter & Smith to help resolve personal injury matters. Our firm specializes in personal injury law and has the experience and expertise you need when dealing with these types of difficult cases.
To learn more about filing a personal injury claim, or to schedule a preliminary consultation with our attorneys, we invite you to call us today at (702) 228-2600.